A Crossface Chronicles Update

I know many people have tried to.contact me about some of the major events that have unfolded since my series of stories about Cael Sanderson heading to Penn State.
Unfortunately, shortly after (Seriously, THE day) I finished everything I became very ill. I was sick at home for over a week before being admitted to a hospital, had life-saving surgery and remain there now.
Sorry to have let the fan base down for so long. It will be longer as I still have a lot of recovery time ahead. I’ll do my best to get at least a short commentary in.
Thanks for all the prayers, well-wishes and support. Please keep them coming and I’ll try to get back as soon as possible.
K.J.

30 Responses

  1. K.J.:

    I’m glad to hear you’re doing better. The Gazette needs you. Somebody named Ogden has been blogging about wrestling, but readers need the real deal.

    Best wishes.

    Ecker

  2. Thanks, Jim. Could use a radio to listen to how the boys who play at “Perfect Game Field” do. ;)
    Seriously, thanks for the comment.

  3. Hey KJ. Marc has kept me updated. Good to see you typing again. Good luck on the recovery and look forward to more posts.
    Schafe

  4. Best of luck, KJ. I know you will rally with flying colors. I’ll try to make it down to the hospital before you get released (which I hope is soon). Hang in there pal.

  5. Get well soon KJ! I figured you were covering wrestling in Bulgaria or Turkey and you didn’t have an internet hook up.

    BTW, the execs shrunk the paper while you were gone….I guess that just means the same great wrestling coverage will be a larger % of the paper than it was before.

  6. Hey KJ. I follow you on twitter as well. Just wanted to say get well soon. Hope to see you and your articles up and going again soon. Take it easy!

  7. Dave,
    That would be ideal, but it’s not a perfect world. Let’s hope it works that way, but in any fashion, I plan to have a lot here.

    K.J.

  8. Dave and Jon – Thanks for the well-wishes.

    Jon – I’ll recupe and start spouting off again (Like maybe about how an ISU candidate that I thought would never consider almost did).

    K.J.

  9. Hey Brother,
    Hope you are on the mend. As far as a radio to listen to the Men of Corn, it wouldn’t help as the radio station cannot be heard in buildings made of steel.
    Guess you’ll have to listen to the “Dean of Midwest League broadcasters” (his term, not mine) on streaming audio on the ‘net.
    Seriously though, you are remembered in my prayers every night. Don’t ever hesitate to ask me for help.
    Al

  10. KJ

    Best wishes for a full and speedy recovery.

    Jim

  11. Thanks, Pud’n. It was nice to see up come up and meet your better half.

    Jim, thanks for the well-wishes and I really appreciated your compliment on the message board about the Brands AIA Speech Article.

  12. KJ, get better, man. We are fortunate to have the likes of you, JR, Andy and McCool writing for our sport. I especially like your behind the scenes stuff. Take care and God’s speed. PS: Tell brother Larry I wanna go a couple periods with the BV OW! Go Beavers!!

  13. KJ — Hope you’re much better!

    Saw Jeff a couple of weeks ago – he makes it up every so often now. I’ll call you sometime to see if you’re free for lunch.

    Bob

  14. KJ,
    I hope you are feeling better and better each and everyday. I wish you the best of luck for a speedy recovery.

    Truitt

  15. KJ,
    Just read that you were in the hospital. Hope everything is going well for you.
    Take care of yourself. Will keep you in our thoughts and prayers. Get Well !
    Remember when You got Mike and I in trouble for letting you wrestle in 4th grade . Keep up the good work .

    Pat

  16. KJ,

    Long time no talk, hope everything is going well, if you dont remember me, I once fell out of your basement dorm room window, dont ask me how it happened, you were there!!!

  17. Hey, K.J., didn’t know you were on the DL! Hope your recovery is moving along well and you get back in the lineup very soon.

  18. KJ,

    This is Josh D (you wrote “No Glory, Just Guts”) about me in 2004. I hope all is well and wish you a speedy recovery. Cant wait to read your stuff again soon.

  19. K.J.

    Love your blog, and depend on your reporting of all things wrestling in Eastern IA.
    Get well soon!

    Gregg

  20. Someone posted on hawkreport that you had been hospitalized. Sounds like things are looking better for you, hope your recovery goes quickly and goes well. We will keep you in our prayers here in Urbandale!!

  21. KJ,
    If you are going to be sick I guess this is the best timing you get. Seriously though, I have enjoyed reading your work and look forward to seeing it again in the near future. Get well and get back. If I see you out at 16″ I will buy you one.
    -Nick

  22. K.J.,
    I didn’t know about your illness and hospitalization, but I’m celebrating the fact that you are on the mend. Wrestling — and not just in Iowa — needs you. Happy healing.
    Sandy Stevens

  23. I can’t keep up with all the well-wishes.

    I’ll just say thanks to everyone in one big swoop. At home meds and follow-ups now. Still a number of weeks before a.full return. Unfortunately, that means missing World Team Trials at end of May. :(

  24. KJ,

    Get well soon. I always enjoy reading your stuff.

  25. Then prepare to get one more “big swoop” … keep up the good work and hope you recover to get back to 100 percent.

    With mad respect,
    Jason Bryant

  26. Hope you are feeling better and keeping up with your fan mail. We will keep you in our prayers and hope for a full recovery.

    Matt Dyer
    Glenwood Comm High School
    Head Wrestling Coach

  27. Just read about your health problems. Good luck on a speedy recovery.

  28. K.J.,

    I hope you’re doing better, and look forward to your return. I’d love to talk / chat with you if you have the time and energy. Us “Pilchers” have to stay together!!

    Take care,

    Jake

  29. K.J.,

    Best wishes on a speedy recovery. Hope your back to 100 percent in no time.

    Ryan Kronberg
    C.C. Press

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

